Site last updated 07/01/2022
Copyright® Sanofi Pasteur 2016
Units 706-710, Level 7, Core C, Cyberport 3, 100 Cyberport Road, Hong Kong
This website is for Hong Kong residents only.

Diseases / Hepatitis B

Hepatitis B

What is it?: 

Disease caused by Hepatitis B Virus (HBV) has a worldwide distribution. Based on serological data, it was estimated that in 1995 more than 2 billion people globally had evidence of past or present HBV infection. In 2015 the global prevalence of HBV infection in the general population was estimated at 3.5% with about 257 million persons living with chronic HBV infection. Chronically infected persons are at high risk for development of liver cirrhosis and hepatocellular carcinoma (HCC).1

Most of the burden of HBV-related disease results from infections acquired in infancy through perinatal or early childhood exposure to HBV because infection acquired at an early age is more likely to become chronic than infection acquired later in life.1

Major progress in the global response to viral hepatitis has been achieved through the expansion of routine hepatitis B vaccination, which was facilitated by the introduction of new combination vaccines.1

Clinical features: 

The virus can cause acute hepatitis. Fewer than 5% of infected children under 5 years of age and 30-60% of infected adults are symptomatic. Common presentations include fever, loss of appetite, nausea, vomiting, abdominal pain, yellow coloring of the eyes, dark urine and clay colored or light stools.

Symptomatic or not, approximately 5-10% of adults and 95% of perinatally infected infants are unable to clear the virus, thus becoming chronic carriers. They may subsequently develop chronic hepatitis, permanent liver damage or liver cancer.2

Mode of transmission: 

Hepatitis B virus can be found in blood and body fluids of an infected person. It is spread in the following ways:2

  1. Mother to infant transmission at or around the time of delivery
  2. Blood contact
    1. by direct contact with contaminated blood
    2. by sharing contaminated personal items such as toothbrushes, razors and nail cutters
    3. by sharing contaminated needles
    4. by ear-piercing, tattooing or acupuncture using contaminated instruments
    5. by transfusion of contaminated blood or blood products
  3. Sexual contact2
Incubation period: 

The incubation period ranges from 45-160 days. Symptoms usually occur within 3 months.2

Prevention: 
  1. Avoid sharing of syringes, razors, toothbrushes and other objects that may be contaminated with blood.2
  2. Clean and dress wound adequately. 2
  3. Wear gloves while handling blood and body fluids. 2
  4. Disinfect objects contaminated with blood using household bleach diluted 4 times. 2
  5. Practice safe sex. 2
  6. An effective vaccine against hepatitis B infection is available. The standard vaccination scheme is a 3-dose schedule administered at 0, 1, 6 months. Booster dose is usually not required for those who have completed a standard three-dose regimen. 2
  7. For babies born to carrier mothers, an additional hepatitis B immunoglobulin is given within 24 hours of birth to prevent transmission of infection from their mothers. 2
Managment: 

For management of acute hepatitis, the patient should have adequate rest, balanced diet and avoid alcohol intake. Safer sex and practices to avoid transmission via blood contact should be encouraged. Minority of adults who might become chronic carriers should receive individualized medical care for chronic hepatitis B infection.2

Reference:

  1. World Health Organization. Weekly epidemiological record. Hepatitis B vaccines: WHO position paper - July 2017. 2017;27(92):369-392.
  2. CHP. https://www.chp.gov.hk/en/healthtopics/content/24/27.html Accessed on 8Feb2021

MAT-HK-2100166-1.0-02/2021

本頁最後更新日期 23/08/2019
版權所有 Sanofi Pasteur 2016
香港數碼港三期C座7樓706-710室
本網站只供香港居民參考之用

疾病資訊 / 乙型肝炎

乙型肝炎

疾病簡介: 

乙型肝炎是由乙型肝炎病毒 (HBV) 引起的全球性疾病。根據血清學數據,估計1995年全球有超過20億人曾經或正在受HBV病毒。直至2015年,全球HBV感染率估計為3.5%,約2.57億人受慢性HBV病毒感染。慢性感染者通常有較高機會演變成肝硬化甚至肝癌。1

與HBV相關疾病的負擔大部分來自因圍產期或出生初期受HBV感染的兒童,因為於出生早期受感染比後期感染更容易演變成慢性疾病。1

目前全球各個地區正因應乙型肝炎的發展情況,陸續引入包括預防乙型肝炎的多合一疫苗以應對疾病傳播,並在疾病預防方面取得重大進展。1

 

病徵: 

乙型肝炎病毒可引致急性肝炎。在患者當中,少於5%的5歲以下兒童,以及30至60%的成年人會出現症狀。常見症狀包括發燒、食慾減退、噁心、嘔吐、腹痛、眼白變黃、小便深色及大便呈泥土色或變淺色。

不管出現症狀與否,大約5至10%的成人患者及95%受母體感染的嬰兒均不能清除這種病毒,因而變成慢性帶菌者,並可能在日後患上慢性肝炎,肝臟永久損壞或肝癌。2

傳播途徑: 

乙型肝炎病毒可存在患者的血液及體液中,並通過下列途徑傳播給他人:2

  1. 母親在分娩時或在分娩期間傳給嬰兒。
  2. 血液接觸
    1. 直接接觸帶病毒血液
    2. 與人共用受污染的個人物品,例如牙刷、剃刀及指甲鉗
    3. 與人共用受污染針筒
    4. 使用帶病毒的工具穿耳孔、紋身或針灸
    5. 輸入受病毒污染的血液或血液製成品。
  3. 性接觸2
潛伏期: 

潛伏期由45日至160日不等,症狀通常在3個月內出現。2

預防方法: 
  1. 避免與人共用針筒、剃刀、牙刷及其他可能受血液污染的物品。2
  2. 妥當地清洗和包紥傷口。2
  3. 接觸血液及體液時須戴上手套。2
  4. 用稀釋的家用漂白水(1份漂白水加4份水)消毒受血液染污的物品。2
  5. 進行性行為前應採取安全預防措施。2
  6. 注射有效對抗乙型肝炎的疫苗。免疫注射的程序包括三次疫苗注射,注射程序分別為0,1及6個月。按以上程序完成三次注射的人通常無須再接受加強劑注射。2
  7. 若嬰兒的母親為帶菌者,嬰兒須在出生後24小時內接受額外的乙型肝炎免疫球蛋白注射,以防止病毒經母親傳給嬰兒。2
治理方法: 

急性乙型肝炎沒有特別治療方法。患者必須有足夠休息,均衡飲食及避免飲酒。應採取安全性行為及預防通過血液接觸傳染的措施以減低其感染。少數成年人會成為慢性乙型肝炎患者。若是,他們應接受特定慢性乙型肝炎治療。2

Reference:

  1. World Health Organization. Weekly epidemiological record. Hepatitis B vaccines: WHO position paper - July 2017. 2017;27(92):369-392.
  2. Centre for Health Protection. Communicable diseases – Hepatitis B. 17 July 2015. [ONLINE] https://www.chp.gov.hk/en/healthtopics/content/24/27.html#  (Accessed 7 Jun 2018).

 

SPHK.PENTA.18.06.0095 / JUN 2018