Site last updated 07/01/2022
Copyright® Sanofi Pasteur 2016
Units 706-710, Level 7, Core C, Cyberport 3, 100 Cyberport Road, Hong Kong
This website is for Hong Kong residents only.

Diseases / Human Papillomavirus

Human Papillomavirus

What is it?: 

HPV is the most common viral infection of the reproductive tract and is the cause of a range of conditions in both men and women, including precancerous lesions that may progress to cancer. Although the majority of HPV infections do not cause symptoms and resolve spontaneously, persistent infection with HPV may result in disease. In women, persistent infection with specific HPV types (most frequently HPV-16 and HPV-18) may lead to precancerous lesions which, if untreated, may progress to cervical cancer. HPV infection is also associated with oropharyngeal and anogenital cancers and other conditions in men and women.1

Mode of transmission: 

High number of sex partners is a salient risk factor for HPV transmission. It is estimated that the incidence of HPV infection among initially uninfected women could reach as high as 60% over a 5-year follow-up period and that the probability of HPV transmission per coital act ranged from 5% to 100% with a median of 40%.

There is no published study to support the transmission of genital HPV through toilet seats, kissing on the mouth, hugging, holding hands, poor personal hygiene, sharing food or utensils, swimming in pools or hot tubs.2

Prevention: 

To date, the scientific evidence supports that vaccination against the HPV is effective for individual protection against HPV infections, by the genotypes covered by the respective vaccine, and thence cervical cancer. HPV vaccination is recommended to be included in the Hong Kong Childhood Immunization Programme as a public health programme for cervical cancer prevention for girls of suitable ages before sexual debut according to the prevailing recommended schedules.

HPV vaccines cannot offer a 100% full protection from cervical cancer. In this connection, regular cervical cancer screening remains an important public health strategy which should continue to be recommended to achieve a high population coverage. HPV vaccination does not replace the cervical cancer screening.2

Managment: 

Cervical cancer may be treated with radiotherapy, surgery, adjuvant chemotherapy or in combination according to the stage at diagnosis. When diagnosed at precancerous stage, the lesion can be effectively managed by less aggressive method.1

Reference:

  1. World Health Organization. Weekly epidemiological record. Human papillomavirus vaccines: WHO position paper - May 2017. 2017;19(92):241-268.
  2. Centre for Health Protection. Joint Consensus Recommendation on the Use of 9-valent Human Papillomavirus (HPV) Vaccine in Prevention of Cervical Cancer in Hong Kong. September 2018.

 

MAT-HK-2100413-1.0-04/2021

本頁最後更新日期 23/08/2019
版權所有 Sanofi Pasteur 2016
香港數碼港三期C座7樓706-710室
本網站只供香港居民參考之用

疾病資訊 / 人類乳頭狀瘤病毒 (HPV)

人類乳頭狀瘤病毒 (HPV)

疾病簡介: 

HPV (人類乳頭狀瘤病毒) 是生殖道中最常見的病毒性感染,並且是引起男性和女性一系列病症的原因之一,當中包括可能發展為癌症的癌前病變。雖然大多數HPV感染不會引起症狀並自發消退,但持續受HPV感染可能導致疾病。女性持續感染特定HPV類型(最常見的是HPV-16和HPV-18)可能導致癌前病變,如果不及時治療,可能會發展成子宮頸癌。HPV感染也與男性和女性患上咽喉癌、肛門及生殖器癌症、或其他疾病有關。1

傳播途徑: 

擁有大量性伴侶是HPV傳播的高危因素。據估計,初時未受感染的婦女的HPV5年跟進觀察期間受感染並發病機率可高達60%,每次性交傳播HPV的可能性範圍為5%至100%,中位數為40%。

現時沒有研究支持HPV通過共用馬桶座、接吻、擁抱、牽手、個人衛生意識不足、共用食物或器具、或者共同在游泳池或熱水浴池中游泳而傳播。2

預防方法: 

迄今為止,科學數據支持HPV疫苗有效預防疫苗中相應涵蓋的​​基因型HPV感染,以及子宮頸癌。HPV疫苗已被列入香港兒童免疫接種計劃,作為預防女童患上子宮頸癌的公共衛生策略。

HPV疫苗不能百分百預防子宮頸癌。定期進行子宮頸癌篩查仍然是一項重要措施,應持續推行以覆蓋大部分人口。 HPV疫苗接種不能取代宮頸癌篩查。2

治理方法: 

雖然沒有特別針對HPV感染的治療,但是侵入性子宮頸疾病的篩查和治療在預防子宮頸癌方面非常有效。子宮頸癌前病變可通過消融方法治療,包括通過燃燒或冷凍(冷凍療法)破壞異常組織和進行手術切除異常組織。1

Reference:

  1. World Health Organization. Weekly epidemiological record. Human papillomavirus vaccines: WHO position paper - May 2017. 2017;19(92):241-268.
  2. Centre for Health Protection. Joint Consensus Recommendation on the Use of 9-valent Human Papillomavirus (HPV) Vaccine in Prevention of Cervical Cancer in Hong Kong. September 2018.

 

SPHK.HEXAX.19.08.0135  / AUG 2019