Site last updated 07/01/2022
Copyright® Sanofi Pasteur 2016
Units 706-710, Level 7, Core C, Cyberport 3, 100 Cyberport Road, Hong Kong
This website is for Hong Kong residents only.

Diseases / Japanese Encephalitis

Japanese Encephalitis

What is it?: 

Japanese encephalitis (JE) is a vector-borne zoonotic viral disease. JE virus (JEV) is the leading cause of viral encephalitis in Asia. JE occurs in nearly all Asian countries, whether temperate, subtropical, or tropical, and has intruded into new areas through importation of infected vectors. Currently, an estimated 3 billion people live in the 24 countries, mainly in the WHO South-East Asia and Western Pacific Regions, considered at risk of JE.1

In temperate locations, the period of transmission of JEV typically starts in April or May, and lasts until September or October. In tropical and subtropical areas, transmission exhibits less seasonal variation, or intensifies with the rainy season.1

As JE surveillance is not well established in many countries, and laboratory confirmation is challenging, the true extent and prevalence of the virus and burden of disease are not well understood. It is estimated that 67 900 clinical cases of JE occur annually despite widespread availability of vaccine, with approximately 13 600 to 20 400 deaths, and an overall incidence rate of 1.8/100 000 in the 24 countries with JE risk. 1

Clinical features: 

Mild infections may occur without apparent symptoms other than fever with headache. More severe infection is marked by quick onset of headache, high fever, neck stiffness, impaired mental state, coma, tremors, occasional convulsions (especially in children) and paralysis.4

Mode of transmission: 

JEV is transmitted through a zoonotic cycle between mosquitoes, pigs and water birds. Humans get accidentally infected when bitten by an infected mosquito and are a dead end host. Humans do not participate in the spread of JE because of low level and short-lived viremia. 2

Distribution of JE virus vector mosquitoes (Culex) in Hong Kong:3

*Adapted from Food and Environmental Hygiene Department, The Government of HKSAR

Incubation period: 

Symptoms usually start at around 4-14 days after being infected.4

Complications: 

The case-fatality rate can be as high as 20-30% among those with symptoms. Of those who survive, 30% suffer1

  • permanent intellectual
  • behavioral or neurological problems such as paralysis, recurrent seizures or inability to speak.
Prevention: 

WHO recommendations: JE vaccination should be integrated into national immunization schedules in all areas where JE is recognized as a public health priority. Even if the number of JE-confirmed cases is low, vaccination should be considered where there is a suitable environment for JEV transmission, i.e. presence of animal reservoirs, ecological conditions supportive of virus transmission, and proximity to other countries or regions with known JEV transmission.1

Japanese encephalitis vaccine is not available in Hong Kong for individuals aged 9-month above.5

Besides, to prevent contracting the disease, one should take general measures to prevent mosquito bites, apply effective insect repellents (containing DEET) to exposed parts of the body and avoid going to rural areas from dusk till dawn when the mosquitoes spreading this virus are most active.4

 

General Measures on Preventing Mosquito-borne Diseases:4

  • Wear loose, light-coloured, long-sleeved tops and trousers, and apply effective insect repellents containing DEET to exposed parts of the body & clothing.
  • Use mosquito screens or bed nets when the room is not air-conditioned.
  • Apply household pesticide to kill adult mosquito with a dosage according to the label instructions. Do not spray the pesticides directly against functioning electrical appliances or flame to avoid explosion.
  • Place mosquito coil or electric mosquito mat / liquid near possible entrance, such as window, to prevent mosquito bites.
  • Prevent the accumulation of stagnant water
  • Put all used cans and bottles into covered dustbins.
  • Change water for plants at least once a week, leaving no water in the saucers underneath flower pots.
  • Cover tightly all water containers, wells and water storage tanks.
  • Ensure air-conditioner drip trays are free of stagnant water.
  • Keep all drains free from blockage.
  • Top up all defective ground surfaces to prevent the accumulation of stagnant water.
Managment: 

There is no specific anti-viral treatment currently for Japanese encephalitis. Physician may provide supportive treatment to patient.1

High risk groups: 
  • Higher risk in children: In JE endemic countries, the incidence exceeds 9 times in children under 14 years old compared to 15 years old or above.1
  • Greater risk of severe disease in young children: Children under 10 years old have a greater risk of severe disease and a higher case-fatality rate.1
  • According to the latest recommendations from the Scientific Committee on Vector-borne Diseases in 2017:  areas within 2km of pig farms in Hong Kong are considered as high-risk for local JE cases and it covers 633,000 population.6

+Locations of pig farms are provided by Agriculture, Fisheries and Conservation Department, The Government of HKSAR

Reference:

  1. World Health Organization. Japanese encephalitis: WHO position paper. 2015.
  2. Misra UK, Kalita J. Overview: Japanese encephalitis. Prog Neurobiol 2010; 91: 108–120.
  3. Food and Environmental Hygiene Department, 2010. Distribution of Culex tritaeniorhynchus (JE vector survey 10/04-10/05). Available at: https://www.fehd.gov.hk/english/pestcontrol/dengue_fever/images/je_before.pdf  [Accessed: February 2, 2021].
  4. Centre for Health Protection (2018), Centre for Health Protection - Japanese Encephalitis. Available from: Department of Health, HKSAR, Web site: https://www.chp.gov.hk/en/healthtopics/content/24/28.html [Accessed: February 2, 2021].
  5. Imojev package insert. May 2015 version.
  6. Scientific Committee On Vector-borne Disease (2017), Consensus Statement on Prevention and Control of Japanese Encephalitis. Available from: Centre for Health Protection, Web site https://www.chp.gov.hk/files/pdf/consensus_statement_japanese_encephalitis_oct_2017.pdf [Accessed: February 2, 2021]

MAT-HK-2100120-1.0-02/2021

本頁最後更新日期 18/05/2021
版權所有 Sanofi Pasteur 2016
香港數碼港三期C座7樓706-710室
本網站只供香港居民參考之用

疾病資訊 / 日本腦炎

日本腦炎

疾病簡介: 

日本腦炎,又稱流行性乙型腦炎(乙腦)是一種經蚊子傳播的人、畜的共患病毒。在亞洲,它是病毒性腦炎肆虐的主因。日本腦炎幾乎發生在所有亞洲國家,無論是溫帶、亞熱帶或熱帶地區均有個案出現,並透過已受感染的載體傳到新的地區。目前,在世衛定義下的亞洲東南部和西太平洋地區共24個國家,估計受日本腦炎病毒感染風險影響的人數高達30億。1

在溫帶地區,日本腦炎病毒通常在四月或五月開始傳播,並持續到九月或十月。在熱帶和亞熱帶地區,此病毒傳播情況較少有季節性變化,但會在雨季會加劇。1

病徵: 

大部份受感染者没有明顯病徵,或只有發燒及頭痛等輕微病徵。病情嚴重者則會在短時間內發病,並會出現頭痛、發高燒、頸部僵硬、神志不清、昏迷、震顫、抽搐(尤其是兒童)及癱瘓等徵狀。4

傳播途徑: 

日本腦炎病毒是透過蚊子、豬隻和水鳥傳播的人、畜共患病毒。整個庫蚊屬(Culex) 皆可以傳染日本腦炎病毒,常見的種類包括三帶喙庫蚊。當人類被受感染的蚊子叮咬,便會受病毒感染。日本腦炎不會人傳人,因為它只會引致短暫的病毒血症。2

 

日本腦炎病媒蚊 (三帶喙庫蚊) 在本港分佈如下3

潛伏期: 

日本腦炎由受到感染到發病為四至十四天。4

併發症: 

登革熱病毒與日本腦炎病毒同是屬於黃病毒家族,病徵也相似。但日本腦炎的病徵一般較嚴重,

在後遺症方面,嚴重日本腦炎個案的死亡率高達20-30%。另外三成嚴重個案皆會出現以下後遺症:1

  • 智力問題
  • 神經障礙
  • 心理障礙
  • 身體殘障
預防方法: 

世衛建議: 如果日本腦炎在當地屬於優先處理的公共健康問題,日本腦炎疫苗應該納入當地的國家疫苗注射計劃之中。即使日本腦炎的確診數目不多,只要當地環境條件適合日本腦炎病毒傳播,如1

  • 該地有可傳播病毒的動物宿主
  • 生態環境適合病毒傳播
  • 鄰近國家或地區正在傳播日本腦炎病毒,亦需要考慮注射日本腦炎疫苗。

現時本港已經有日本腦炎的疫苗,適合9個月大或以上的兒童及成年人接種。5

另外,要避免受感染,需要做足基本防蚊措施,包括在身體外露的部位塗上有效防蟲劑(含有DEET成分)。黃昏至黎明時分為病媒蚊最為活躍,應該避免在這些時分到郊外。4

 

防蚊子傳播的疾病的方法:4

 

  • 應穿著寬鬆、淺色的長袖上衣及長褲,並於外露的皮膚及衣服上塗上含避蚊胺 (DEET)成分的有效蚊怕水或蚊怕膏。
  • 如房間沒有空調設備,應裝置蚊帳或防蚊網。
  • 使用家用殺蟲劑殺滅成蚊,並遵照包裝指示使用適當的份量。切勿向運作中的電器用品或火焰直接噴射殺蟲劑,以免發生爆炸。
  • 在門窗等入口處放置蚊香或電蚊片/驅蚊液,防止蚊子飛進室內。
  • 防止積水
  • 把所有用過的罐子及瓶子放進有蓋的垃圾桶內。
  • 每星期最少替植物換水一次,勿讓花盆底盤留有積水。
  • 緊蓋所有貯水容器、水井及貯水池。
  • 確保冷氣機底盤沒有積水。
  • 所有渠道要保持暢通。
  • 將地面凹陷的地方全部填平,以防積水。
治理方法: 

日本腦炎並無特定的治療方法。醫生一般對患者施以支援性治療。1

高危組別: 
  • 兒童患病風險較高:14歲以下兒童的患病率是15歲或以上人士的9倍1
  • 幼童病情較嚴重:10歲以下的病童出現嚴重病情的風險較高,死亡機會亦較高1
  • 根據本港衛生防護中心於2017年更新對日本腦炎的防控指引 ,明確指出本港豬場兩公里範圍內居民,定義為日本腦炎的高危人士。而估算受影響人數高達633,000人。6
  • *豬場位置由漁農自然護理署提供

Reference:

  1. World Health Organization. Japanese encephalitis: WHO position paper. 2015.
  2. Misra UK, Kalita J. Overview: Japanese encephalitis. Prog Neurobiol 2010; 91: 108–120.
  3. Food and Environmental Hygiene Department, 2010. Distribution of Culex tritaeniorhynchus (JE vector survey 10/04-10/05). Available at: https://www.fehd.gov.hk/english/pestcontrol/dengue_fever/images/je_before.pdf  [Accessed: February 2, 2021].
  4. Centre for Health Protection (2018), Centre for Health Protection - Japanese Encephalitis. Available from: Department of Health, HKSAR, Web site: https://www.chp.gov.hk/en/healthtopics/content/24/28.html [Accessed: February 2, 2021].
  5. Imojev package insert. May 2015 version.
  6. Scientific Committee On Vector-borne Disease (2017), Consensus Statement on Prevention and Control of Japanese Encephalitis. Available from: Centre for Health Protection, Web site https://www.chp.gov.hk/files/pdf/consensus_statement_japanese_encephalitis_oct_2017.pdf [Accessed: February 2, 2021]

MAT-HK-2100121-1.0-02/2021