Site last updated 07/01/2022
Copyright® Sanofi Pasteur 2016
Units 706-710, Level 7, Core C, Cyberport 3, 100 Cyberport Road, Hong Kong
This website is for Hong Kong residents only.

Diseases / Measles

Measles

What is it?: 

Measles is one of the most contagious diseases of humans. It is caused by the measles virus and occurs as a seasonal disease in endemic areas. In tropical zones, most cases of measles occur during the dry season, whereas in temperate zones, incidence peaks during late winter and early spring.1

The average age for acquiring measles depends on biological and epidemiological factors, mainly population immunity and birth rate. As vaccination coverage increases, the average age of measles infection can shift to adolescents and young adults. These older groups remain susceptible because they had not been vaccinated or exposed to wild-type measles virus due to decreased transmission among younger vaccinated groups.1

In the absence of efforts to vaccinate the older susceptible populations, measles virus introduction can result in an outbreak, reflecting the immunity gaps among these age cohorts.1

In spite of the widespread use of measles vaccines worldwide, measles remains an important cause of death and disability in countries with limited health infrastructure.1

Clinical features: 

Measles was a common childhood infection prior to the introduction of measles vaccine. Affected persons will present initially with fever, cough, runny nose, red eyes and white spots inside the mouth. This is followed 3 to 7 days later by a red blotchy skin rash, which usually spreads from face to the rest of the body. The rash usually lasts 4 - 7 days, but can persist for up to 3 weeks leaving with brownish staining and sometimes fine skin peeling. In severe cases, lung, gut and brain can get involved and lead to serious consequences or even death.2

Measles infection in pregnancy can result in adverse pregnancy outcomes, including pregnancy loss, preterm birth, and low birth weight, but there is no evidence to support an increased risk of congenital defects. Moreover, neonates who get infected because the mother had measles shortly around the period of delivery are at an increased risk of subacute sclerosing panencephalitis (a very rare but fatal disease of the central nervous system) in later life.2

Mode of transmission: 

This can be transmitted airborne by droplet spread or by direct contact with nasal or throat secretions of infected persons, and less commonly, by articles soiled with nasal or throat secretions. Measles is one of the most highly communicable infectious diseases. The patient can pass the disease to other persons from 4 days before to 4 days after appearance of the rash.2

Incubation period: 

It usually ranges from 7 - 18 days, but can be up to 21 days.2

Prevention: 

Maintain good personal hygiene2

  • Perform hand hygiene frequently, especially before touching the mouth, nose or eyes, after touching public installations such as handrails or door knobs or when hands are contaminated by respiratory secretion after coughing or sneezing. 
  • Cover your mouth and nose with tissue paper when sneezing or coughing. Dispose of soiled tissues into a lidded rubbish bin, then wash hands thoroughly.
  • When having a fever, rash or respiratory symptoms, wear a surgical mask, refrain from work or school, avoid going to crowded places and seek medical advice promptly.

Maintain good environmental hygiene2

  • Regularly clean and disinfect frequently touched surfaces such as furniture, toys and commonly shared items with 1:99 diluted household bleach (mixing 1 part of 5.25% bleach with 99 parts of water), leave for 15 – 30 minutes, and then rinse with water and keep dry. For metallic surface, disinfect with 70% alcohol.
  • Use absorbent disposable towels to wipe away obvious contaminants such as respiratory secretions, and then disinfect the surface and neighbouring areas with 1:49 diluted household bleach (mixing 1 part of 5.25% bleach with 49 parts of water), leave for 15 – 30 minutes and then rinse with water and keep dry. 
  • Maintain good indoor ventilation.

Immunization2

  • Vaccination against measles is the most effective preventive measure. Under the Hong Kong Childhood Immunisation Programme, children receive a two-dose course of measles vaccination (Please refer to the Hong Kong Childhood Immunisation Programme).
  • All foreign domestic helpers (FDH) who are non-immune@ to measles should receive Measles, Mumps and Rubella (MMR) vaccine, preferably before they arrive in Hong Kong. If this is not possible, they can consult a doctor after they have arrived in Hong Kong.
  • In general, women should avoid pregnancy for three months after receipt of MMR vaccine and take appropriate contraceptive measure.
Managment: 

Affected persons should avoid contact with non-immune persons, especially those with weakened immunity, pregnant women and infants. Although there is no specific treatment, drugs may be prescribed to reduce the symptoms and antibiotics may be used to treat bacterial complications.2

Reference:

  1. World Health Organization. Weekly epidemiological record. Measles vaccines: WHO position paper - April 2017. 2017;17(92):205-228.
  2. Centre for Health Protection. Communicable diseases – Measles. 9 Jul 2019. https://www.chp.gov.hk/tc/healthtopics/content/24/31.html [ONLINE] Accessed 15 Mar 2021.

 

MAT-HK-2100318-1.0-03/2021

本頁最後更新日期 20/04/2021
版權所有 Sanofi Pasteur 2016
香港數碼港三期C座7樓706-710室
本網站只供香港居民參考之用

疾病資訊 / 麻疹

麻疹

疾病簡介: 

麻疹是對人類傳染性最強的疾病之一。麻疹由麻疹病毒引起,在此疾病流行的地區,會以季節性的形式出現。在熱帶地區,大多數麻疹病例發生在旱季,而在溫帶地區,高峰會發生於晚冬與初春之間。1

麻疹患者的平均年齡取決於生物和流行病學因素,主要因素是人群免疫力和當地出生率。隨著疫苗接種覆蓋率的增加,麻疹感染的平均年齡組別轉移到青少年和較年輕的成年人身上。由於最年輕組別已經接種疫苗,群組之間的病毒傳播已經減少,至於年齡較高的群組,因為未曾接種疫苗或接觸過外來的麻疹病毒,相對上較易受感染。1

儘管全球已經廣泛使用麻疹疫苗,在部分醫療設施未完善的國家,麻疹仍然是導致死亡和殘疾的原因之一。1

病徵: 

未有麻疹疫苗前,麻疹是一種普遍的兒童傳染病。受感染的人初時會發燒、咳嗽、流鼻水、眼紅及口腔內出現白點。3至7天後皮膚會出現污斑紅疹,通常會由面部擴散到全身,維持4至7天,亦可能長達3個星期,留下褐色斑痕或出現脫皮。病重者的呼吸系統、消化道及腦部會受影響,引致嚴重後果甚至死亡。2

懷孕期間感染麻疹可能導致懷孕的不良影響,包括流產、早產及嬰兒出生時體重過輕等,然而並無證據顯示會增加嬰兒出現先天性缺陷的風險。此外,如孕婦於生產前後的短時間內感染麻疹,其受感染的初生嬰兒日後患「亞急性硬化性全腦炎」(一種非常罕見但可致命的神經系統疾病)的風險較高。2

傳播途徑: 

麻疹可透過空氣中的飛沫或直接接觸病人的鼻喉分泌物而傳播,透過被鼻喉分泌物弄污的物件傳播的機會則較低。麻疹是一種高傳染性的疾病。病人從出疹前4天至出疹後4天內可把病傳染給別人。 2

潛伏期: 

麻疹的潛伏期一般為7至18天,但可長達21天。 2

預防方法: 
  • 維持良好的個人衞生2
    • 經常保持雙手清潔,尤其在觸摸口、鼻或眼之前、觸摸扶手或門把等公共設施後,或當手被呼吸道分泌物污染時,如咳嗽或打噴嚏後。
    • 打噴嚏或咳嗽時應用紙巾掩蓋口鼻。
    • 若有發燒、出疹或呼吸道病徵,應戴上外科口罩,不應上班或上學,避免前往人多擠逼的地方,及盡早向醫生求診。
  • 保持良好的環境衞生2
    • 定期清潔和消毒常接觸的表面,如傢俬、玩具和共用物件。使用 1 比 99 稀釋家用漂白水(即把1 份 5.25% 漂白水與 99 份清水混和)消毒,待15 - 30分鐘後,用水清洗並抹乾。金屬表面則可用70%火酒清潔消毒。
    • 用吸水力強的即棄抹巾清理可見的污物,如呼吸道分泌物,然後用1 比 49 稀釋家用漂白水(即把 1 份 5.25% 漂白水與 49 份清水混和)消毒被污染的地方及鄰近各處。
    • 保持室內空氣流通。
  • 免疫接種2
    • 防疫注射是最有效預防麻疹的方法。在「香港兒童免疫接種計劃」下,兒童接種共兩劑含麻疹的疫苗。(請參閱「香港兒童免疫接種計劃」)
    • 所有對麻疹未具備免疫力@的外籍家庭傭工都應接種麻疹、流行性腮腺炎及德國麻疹(MMR)混合疫苗,在抵港工作前接種更佳。如果未能及時接種,他們可以在抵港後諮詢醫生意見。僱傭機構可考慮將外籍家庭傭工對麻疹免疫力的評估或MMR混合疫苗接種加入職前身體檢查項目中。
    • 一般而言,婦女在接種MMR混合疫苗後三個月內不宜懷孕,需採取妥善的避孕措施。
治理方法: 

麻疹病人應避免與未有免疫力人士接觸,尤其是抵抗力弱人士、孕婦及未滿一歲的兒童。雖然現時未有特定療法,但可處方藥物紓緩病徵,亦可採用抗生素醫治由細菌引致的併發症。2

Reference:

  1. World Health Organization. Weekly epidemiological record. Measles vaccines: WHO position paper - April 2017. 2017;17(92):205-228.
  2. Centre for Health Protection. Communicable diseases – Measles. 9 Jul 2019. https://www.chp.gov.hk/tc/healthtopics/content/24/31.html [ONLINE] Accessed 15 Mar 2021.

 

MAT-HK-2100317-1.0-03/2021