Site last updated 07/01/2022
Copyright® Sanofi Pasteur 2016
Units 706-710, Level 7, Core C, Cyberport 3, 100 Cyberport Road, Hong Kong
This website is for Hong Kong residents only.

Diseases / Meningococcal diseases

Meningococcal diseases

What is it?: 

In most countries, Neisseria meningitidis (the meningococcus) is recognized as a leading cause of meningitis and fulminant septicaemia and a significant public health problem. However, surveillance data from many countries, particularly in Asia, are incomplete or lacking and there is currently no reliable global burden estimate.1

N. meningitidis is a gram-negative diplococcal bacterium which causes disease only in humans. It is classified into 12 serogroups (A, B, C, 29E, H, I, K, L, W135, X, Y and Z) based on the structure of the polysaccharide capsule. The majority of invasive meningococcal infections are caused by organisms expressing one of the serogroup A, B, C, X, W135 or Y capsular polysaccharides.1 Based on the data from HK Centre for Health Protection, 66% of confirmed cases are caused by serogroup A, C, W135, Y in the period of 2013-2018.4

Neisseria species, which usually reside asymptomatically in the human nasopharynx, are easily transmitted to close contacts by respiratory droplets. In epidemic situations, nasopharyngeal carriage of potentially pathogenic N. meningitidis has been reported in 10%–25% of healthy adults.3

Clinical features: 

Symptoms of invasive meningococcal disease (IMD) usually occur 1–4 days after infection. Besides meningitis and septicaemia, meningococci occasionally cause arthritis, myocarditis, pericarditis and endophthalmitis.2

Signs and symptoms of IMD in infants and young children include fever, poor feeding, irritability, lethargy, nausea, vomiting, diarrhoea, photophobia and convulsions. The characteristic feature of meningococcal septicaemia is a hemorrhagic (petechial or purpuric) rash that does not blanch under pressure. Signs of meningitis in older children and adults include neck rigidity, photophobia and altered mental status, whereas in infants non-specific presentation with fever, poor feeding and lethargy is common.2

Most untreated cases of meningococcal meningitis and or septicaemia are fatal. Even with appropriate care up to 10% of patients die, typically within 24–48 hours of the onset of symptoms. Approximately 10% to 20% of survivors of meningococcal meningitis are left with permanent sequelae such as mental retardation, deafness, epilepsy, or other neurological disorders.3

Mode of transmission: 

The disease is mainly transmitted by direct contact through respiratory secretions from infected persons.2

Prevention: 

WHO recommendations: In countries where the disease occurs less frequently (<2 cases per 100 000 population/year), meningococcal vaccination is recommended for defined risk groups, such as children and young adults residing in closed communities, e.g. boarding schools or military camps. Laboratory workers at risk of exposure to meningococci should also be vaccinated. Travellers to high-endemic areas should be vaccinated against the prevalent serogroup(s). In addition, meningococcal vaccination should be offered to all individuals suffering from immunodeficiency, including asplenia, terminal complement deficiencies, or advanced HIV infection.1

 

Other precautions:2

  • Keep hands clean. Wash hands with liquid soap and water properly especially when they are dirtied by respiratory secretions e.g. after sneezing. Clean hands with 70 – 80% alcohol-based handrub when they are not visibly soiled.
  • Cover nose and mouth while sneezing or coughing and dispose of nasal and mouth discharge in lidded rubbish bin.
  • Travellers to high risk areas should consult their doctor before the trip to determine the need for meningococcal vaccination.
  • Travellers returning from high risk areas should seek medical advice if they become ill. They should discuss their recent travel history with the doctor.
Managment: 

Meningococcal infection is a serious illness. Patients should be treated promptly with antibiotics. Close contacts would need to be placed under medical surveillance for early signs of disease and may be given preventive medications.2

Reference:

1            World Health Organization. Meningococcal vaccines: WHO position paper. 2011.

2            Centre for Health Protection. Communicable diseases – Meningococcal Infection. 2020.http://www.chp.gov.hk/en/content/9/24/2086.html (accessed 2 Feb2021).

3            World Health Organization. Meningococcal meningitis. 2020. https://www.who.int/news-room/fact-sheets/detail/meningococcal-meningitis (Accessed 2 Feb 2021).

4            Centre for Health Protection. Communicable Diseases Watch (2018); 15(12) [ONLINE]. Available at: https://www.chp.gov.hk/files/pdf.cdw_v15_12.pdf (Accessed on 14 Aug 2019).

           

            MAT-HK-2100499-1.0-04/2021

本頁最後更新日期 20/04/2021
版權所有 Sanofi Pasteur 2016
香港數碼港三期C座7樓706-710室
本網站只供香港居民參考之用

疾病資訊 / 腦膜炎雙球菌

腦膜炎雙球菌

疾病簡介: 

在大多數國家,腦膜炎奈瑟氏菌(亦稱腦膜炎雙球菌)是導致患上腦膜炎和敗血病的主因,此病屬於明顯的公共健康問題。然而,許多國家(特別是亞洲國家)都缺乏或沒有完整的監測數據,目前還沒有可靠的全球統計數字可供參考。1

腦膜炎雙球菌是一種革蘭氏陰性雙球菌,只會令人類患病。它根據多醣膠囊的結構被分為12個血清群(A,B,C,29E,H,I,K,L,W135中,X,Y和Z)。大多數入侵性腦膜炎球菌感染都是由含有A,B,C,X,W135或Y血清型多醣體的生物引起的。1 根據香港衞生防護中心資料,香港2013-2018年期間,A,C,W135,Y血清群確診病例達66 %。4

腦膜炎雙球菌通常寄居在人的鼻咽部份,不容易引起病徵但容易經飛沫傳播。在腦膜炎雙球菌流行地區,健康人士身上的帶有腦膜炎雙球菌的機率由10%至25%不等。3

病徵: 

入侵性腦膜炎雙球菌感染 (IMD) 的徵狀通常在受感染後1至4天後出現。除腦膜炎和敗血病外,腦膜炎雙球菌偶爾會引起關節炎,心肌炎,心包炎和眼內炎等疾病。2

受腦膜炎雙球菌感染的嬰兒或幼童,會出現發燒、拒食、煩躁不安、嗜睡、噁心、嘔吐、腹瀉、畏光和抽搐等症狀。腦膜炎雙球菌敗血症的特徵是出現點狀或紫癜的出血性皮疹。年齡較大的兒童和成年腦膜炎患者出現的症狀包括頸梗、畏光和精神渙散;而嬰幼兒則會有發熱、拒食及嗜睡等非特異性症狀。2

傳播途徑: 

此病主要經由直接接觸患者口鼻分泌物而傳播。2

併發症: 

大部分未經治理的流行性腦膜炎和敗血病都會致命。有高達10%的患者即使得到適當的照顧仍然會在出現徵狀後24至48小時內死亡。大約10至20% 的受腦膜炎雙球菌感染的倖存者會有永久性的後遺症,如智力受損、耳聾、癲癇或其他神經障礙等。3

預防方法: 

世界衛生組織之建議:在較少出現腦膜炎雙球菌感染的國家(以每年每10萬名人口少於兩宗個案計算),高危人士應接種腦膜炎雙球菌疫苗,這包括經常住在同一社區 (如寄宿在學校或軍營) 的兒童和年輕人。實驗室工作人員如有機會接觸此病菌,與及前往此病肆虐的地區的旅客,亦應接種疫苗。此外,所有患有免疫力缺乏症如無脾症、 補體成分缺乏症或晚期愛滋病的人士都應該接種腦膜炎雙球菌疫苗。1

其他注意事項:2

  • 保持雙手清潔。用梘液和清水正確洗手,尤其在雙手被呼吸道的分泌物污染時,如打噴嚏後。當雙手沒有明顯污垢時,可用含 70 – 80% 酒精搓手液潔淨雙手 。 
  • 打噴嚏或咳嗽時應掩著口鼻,用紙巾包裹痰涎,並棄置於有蓋的垃圾桶內。
  • 旅客前往高危地區前,應諮詢醫生有關接種腦膜炎雙球菌疫苗的詳情。
  • 旅客從高危地區回港後若感到不適,應立即求診,並告知醫生近期曾到訪的國家。
治理方法: 

腦膜炎雙球菌感染是一種嚴重的疾病,患者須盡快接受抗生素治療。與患者有緊密接觸的人士則須接受醫學監察,以察早期病徵,並在有需要時服用預防性藥物。2

Reference:

1            World Health Organization. Meningococcal vaccines: WHO position paper. 2011.

2            Centre for Health Protection. Communicable diseases – Meningococcal Infection. 2020.http://www.chp.gov.hk/en/content/9/24/2086.html (accessed 2 Feb 2021).

3            World Health Organization. Meningococcal meningitis. 2020. https://www.who.int/news-room/fact-sheets/detail/meningococcal-meningitis (accessed 2 Feb 2021).

4            Centre for Health Protection. Communicable Diseases Watch (2018); 15(12) [ONLINE]. Available at: https://www.chp.gov.hk/files/pdf.cdw_v15_12.pdf (Accessed on 14 Aug 2019).

           MAT-HK-2100497-1.0-04/2021