Site last updated 07/01/2022
Copyright® Sanofi Pasteur 2016
Units 706-710, Level 7, Core C, Cyberport 3, 100 Cyberport Road, Hong Kong
This website is for Hong Kong residents only.

Diseases / Polio

Polio

What is it?: 

Poliomyelitis is an acute communicable disease caused by any of 3 poliovirus serotypes (types 1, 2 or 3). In the pre-vaccine era when poliovirus was the leading cause of permanent disability in children, almost all children became infected by polioviruses, with on average 1 in 200 susceptible individuals developing paralytic poliomyelitis.1

Clinical features: 

The disease mainly affects young children. It can cause fever, headache, vomiting, abdominal discomfort, muscle pain, stiffness in the neck and back, and paralysis. Most patients will recover, but in severe cases, it can lead to permanent disability and death.2

Mode of transmission: 

The disease is highly infectious. It is spread from person-to-person, mainly through the faecal-oral route. The virus enters the body through oral route and finally invades the central nervous system.2

Incubation period: 

It is usually 7 to 10 days, with a range of 4 to 35 days.2

Prevention: 

Vaccination is the most effective way of preventing the disease. There are two types of polio vaccine: Oral Polio Vaccine (OPV) to be taken by mouth and Inactivated Polio Vaccine (IPV) to be given by injection. As OPV is known to be associated with a rare complication known as vaccine-associated paralytic poliomyelitis, IPV has been used in the Hong Kong Childhood Immunisation Programme since 2007. OPV is no longer used in Hong Kong.2

Managment: 

Suspected infected persons should be referred to the hospital for further management and isolation. Currently, there is no curative treatment for the disease.2

Since the patient’s stool may contain the virus, carers should take extra precautions in the hygiene practices when caring for the sick.2

Reference:

  1. World Health Organization. Weekly epidemiological record. Polio vaccines: WHO position paper – March 2016. 2016;12(91):145-168.
  2. Centre for Health Protection. Communicable diseases – Poliomyelitis. 10 Dec 2019. https://www.chp.gov.hk/tc/healthtopics/content/24/37.html [ONLINE] Accessed 15 Mar 2021.

 

MAT-HK-2100316-1.0-03/2021

本頁最後更新日期 03/12/2019
版權所有 Sanofi Pasteur 2016
香港數碼港三期C座7樓706-710室
本網站只供香港居民參考之用

疾病資訊 / 小兒麻痺症

小兒麻痺症

疾病簡介: 

小兒麻痺症屬於急性傳染病,由1-3型(即1、2或3型)的其中一種小兒麻痺症病毒血清型引起。在沒有疫苗的時代,小兒麻痺症病毒是造成兒童永久傷殘的主要原因之一,幾乎所有孩子都會受小兒麻痺症病毒感染,平均每200個受感染者當中便有一人會發展成麻痺型脊髓灰質炎。1

病徵: 

此病主要影響幼童。患者可能會出現發燒、頭痛、嘔吐、腹部不適、肌肉疼痛、頸背僵硬及麻痺等徵狀。大部分患者都可以痊癒;但嚴重者可導致永久傷殘甚至死亡。2

傳播途徑: 

此病具有高度傳染性。病毒主要經口糞途徑由人傳人。病毒經口進入人體,最終會侵入中樞神經系統。2

潛伏期: 

潛伏期介乎3 - 35 天,通常為7 - 14 天。2

預防方法: 

接種疫苗是預防小兒麻痺症的最有效方法。現時有兩種小兒麻痺疫苗,分別為口服的「小兒麻痺口服劑」及注射的「滅活小兒麻痺疫苗」。香港兒童免疫接種計劃自2007年起採用滅活小兒麻痺疫苗。2

治理方法: 

應將懷疑患上小兒麻痺症的病人送院接受進一步治理及隔離。現時並沒有藥物治療此病。2

Reference:

  1. World Health Organization. Weekly epidemiological record. Polio vaccines: WHO position paper – March 2016. 2016;12(91):145-168.
  2. Centre for Health Protection. Communicable diseases – Poliomyelitis. 17 May 2017. [ONLINE] http://www.chp.gov.hk/en/content/24/37.html (Accessed 2 Oct 2018).

 

SPHK.PENTA.18.10.0220 / OCT 2018