Site last updated 07/01/2022
Copyright® Sanofi Pasteur 2016
Units 706-710, Level 7, Core C, Cyberport 3, 100 Cyberport Road, Hong Kong
This website is for Hong Kong residents only.

Diseases / Rabies

Rabies

What is it?: 

Rabies is a viral zoonotic disease responsible for an estimated 59 000 human deaths and over 3.7 million disability-adjusted life years (DALYs) lost every year. Rabies is almost invariably fatal once clinical signs appear, as a result of acute progressive encephalitis.1

Most cases occur in Africa and Asia, with approximately 40% of cases in children aged <15 years. All mammals are susceptible to infection by the rabies virus (RABV). Transmission of RABV by dogs is responsible for up to 99% of human rabies cases in rabies-endemic regions, with a small proportion due to transmission via wildlife (such as foxes, wolves, jackals, bats, racoons, skunks or mongoose).1

Human-to-human transmission of rabies has never been confirmed, except extremely rarely as a result of infected tissue and organ transplantation1

Clinical features: 

The initial presentation of rabies may be nonspecific and include flu-like symptoms such as malaise, fever or headache, which may last for days. There may be numbness and tingling sensation around the wound. After a few days, anxiety, confusion, spasm of swallowing muscles, paralysis, coma and death will occur.2

Mode of transmission: 

When humans are bitten or scratched, or when their broken skin is licked by an infected animal, the virus in the saliva of the infected animal enters the human body through the wound and travels through nerves to the brain, leading to encephalitis. Rarely, rabies may also be transmitted by inhalation of virus-containing aerosol or via transplantation of an infected organ.2

Incubation period: 

The incubation period is usually 2 to 3 months, but may vary from less than 1 week to over 1 year.2

Prevention: 
  1. Dog owners should make sure their dogs are licensed and vaccinated against rabies.2
  2. Avoid contact with stray animals, including dogs, cats and monkeys.2
  3. Pre-exposure or post-exposure immunisation, combined with thorough wound cleaning, is the most effective method of preventing rabies. After being bitten by animal, wash wound thoroughly with liquid soap and water immediately. Then seek medical attention at the nearest Accident and Emergency Department. If necessary, post-exposure immunisation may be given by the attending doctor.2
  4. Pre-exposure immunisation is recommended when travelling to high-risk destination for long-stay travellers, short-stay travellers to remote rural regions without medical facilities, or travellers with extensive outdoor exposure or engaging in high-risk activities (such as hiking, trekking, cycling, animal handling and visiting bat-infested caves). Please visit the website of Travel Health Service of the Department of Health for more details.2
Managment: 

Once symptoms of rabies appear, the disease is nearly always fatal, and treatment is supportive.2

Reference:           

  1. World Health Organization. Rabies vaccines: WHO position paper. Apr 2018.
  2. Centre for Health Protection. Communicable diseases – Rabies. 3 Dce 2019. https://www.chp.gov.hk/en/healthtopics/content/24/3149.html [ONLINE] Accessed 8 Mar 2021.

 

MAT-HK-2100293-1.0-03/2021

本頁最後更新日期 23/08/2019
版權所有 Sanofi Pasteur 2016
香港數碼港三期C座7樓706-710室
本網站只供香港居民參考之用

疾病資訊 / 瘋狗症 (狂犬病)

瘋狗症 (狂犬病)

疾病簡介: 

狂犬病是一種病毒性疾病,人類及牲畜均有機會患上此病‧每年估計有59 000人死亡,及造成超過370萬殘疾調整生命年(DALYs)的損失。一旦出現臨床症狀如急性腦炎,狂犬病幾乎總是會致命。1

狂犬病病例大多數發生在非洲和亞洲,約有40%的病例包括15歲以下的兒童。所有哺乳動物都有機會受狂犬病毒(RABV)感染。在狂犬病流行的地區,高達99%的人狂犬病病例經由狗隻的RABV傳播,有小部分則經由野生動物傳播(如狐狸,狼,豺,蝙蝠,浣熊,臭鼬或貓鼬)。1

人與人之間的狂犬病傳播從未得到證實,只有極少數案例經由含有受感染組織的器官移植傳播。1

病徵: 

狂犬病初期的病徵並不特別,與流感病徵相似,包括疲倦、發燒或頭痛,可能持續數天,受傷部位附近可能麻痺或刺痛。數天後患者會出現焦慮、神志不清、咽喉肌肉痙攣、癱瘓、昏迷和死亡。2

傳播途徑: 

當人類被帶病毒動物咬傷或抓傷,或傷口被舐後,動物唾液內的病毒經傷口侵入人體,沿神經直到腦部,造成腦炎。狂犬病也可以通過吸入含病毒的水點或通過移植受感染的器官傳播,但相當罕見。2

潛伏期: 

潛伏期通常是 1 至 3 個月,但亦有可能是 1 星期以內至超過 1 年。2

預防方法: 
  1. 狗主必須替其狗隻領取牌照及替家畜作預防狂犬病注射。2
  2. 避免與不明來歷的動物接觸,包括狗、貓、猴子等。2
  3. 傷前或傷後接種預防疫苗和徹底清洗傷口是最有效的預防方法。被動物咬傷後,盡速用清水及肥皂清洗傷口,然後前往附近的急症室接受治療。如有需要,醫生會為傷者提供傷後疫苗注射。2
  4. 傷前接種預防疫苗宜用於要長期逗留疫區的旅客,特別是要去偏遠和缺乏醫療設施的鄉村地方,或者在疫區逗留雖然很短時間,但要進行高危活動 (長途步行、踩單車、遠行、處理動物)的旅客。如要獲得更多資訊,請瀏覽衞生署旅遊健康服務網頁。2
治理方法: 

當病徵出現後,狂犬病一般會致命,醫生會對患者施以支援性治療。2

Reference:           

  1. World Health Organization. Rabies vaccines: WHO position paper. Apr 2018.
  2. Centre for Health Protection. Communicable diseases – Rabies. 24 Feb 2017. https://www.chp.gov.hk/en/healthtopics/content/24/3149.html (Accessed 16 May 2019).

 

SPHK.IMOJ.19.05.0074 / MAY 2019