Site last updated 07/01/2022
Copyright® Sanofi Pasteur 2016
Units 706-710, Level 7, Core C, Cyberport 3, 100 Cyberport Road, Hong Kong
This website is for Hong Kong residents only.

Diseases / Rubella

Rubella

What is it?: 

Rubella is also known as "German Measles" and is caused by rubella virus.2

Rubella is an acute, usually mild viral disease traditionally affecting susceptible children and young adults worldwide. Rubella usually occurs in a seasonal pattern, with epidemics every 5–9 years. However, the extent and periodicity of rubella epidemics is highly variable in both industrialized and developing countries.1

Rubella infection occurring just before conception and during early pregnancy may result in miscarriage, fetal death, or congenital defects known as congenital rubella syndrome (CRS). The highest risk of CRS is found in countries with high rates of susceptibility to rubella among women of childbearing age. These rates may vary considerably among and within countries, mainly reflecting epidemiological and socioeconomic differences, and urban versus rural settings.1

Before the introduction of rubella vaccine, the incidence of CRS varied from 0.1–0.2/1000 live births during endemic periods, and from 0.8–4/1000 live births during rubella epidemics.1

Clinical features: 

People usually present with a diffuse rash, fever, headache, malaise, enlargement of lymph nodes, upper respiratory symptoms and conjunctivitis. The rash usually lasts for about 3 days, but some patients may not have rash at all. Arthralgia or arthritis occurs more commonly in adult women with rubella. Rubella infection can also cause anomalies in the developing foetus. Congenital rubella syndrome, characterised by deafness, cataract, heart malformations, mental retardation etc., is likely to occur in infants born to women who got infected during the first 3 months of pregnancy.2

Mode of transmission: 

It can be transmitted by contact with secretions from nose and throat of infected persons through droplet spread or direct contact with patients. This is a highly infectious disease and the patient can pass the disease to other persons from 1 week before to 1 week after onset of rash.2

Incubation period: 

It ranges from 12 – 23 days, usually 14 days.2

Prevention: 

Maintain good personal hygiene2

  • Perform hand hygiene frequently, especially before touching the mouth, nose or eyes, after touching public installations such as handrails or door knobs or when hands are contaminated by respiratory secretion after coughing or sneezing
  • Cover your mouth and nose with tissue paper when sneezing or coughing
  • When having respiratory symptoms, wear a surgical mask, refrain from work or school, avoid going to crowded places and seek medical advice promptly
  • Affected persons should be advised to stay at home for 7 days from the appearance of rash and avoid contact with any susceptible persons, particularly pregnant women and women preparing for pregnancy. 

Maintain good environmental hygiene2

  • Regularly clean and disinfect frequently touched surfaces such as furniture, toys and commonly shared items with 1:99 diluted household bleach
  • Use absorbent disposable towels to wipe away obvious contaminants such as respiratory secretions, and then disinfect the surface and neighbouring areas with 1:49 diluted household bleach
  • Maintain good indoor ventilation

Immunization2

  • Immunisation with rubella-containing vaccine is effective in preventing the disease. Under the Hong Kong Childhood Immunisation Programme, children receive a two-dose course of rubella vaccination (Please refer to the Hong Kong Childhood Immunisation Programme).
  • Women of childbearing age who are not immunised should check their immune status before planning for pregnancy and receive rubella-containing vaccine if necessary.
Managment: 

There is no specific treatment but drugs may be prescribed to reduce discomfort.2

Reference:

  1. World Health Organization. Weekly epidemiological record. Rubella vaccines: WHO position paper – June 2020. 2020;27(95):301-324.
  2. Centre for Health Protection. Communicable diseases – Rubella. 9 Jul 2019. https://www.chp.gov.hk/en/healthtopics/content/24/40.html [ONLINE] Accessed 15 Mar 2021.

 

MAT-HK-2100320-1.0-03/2021

本頁最後更新日期 03/12/2019
版權所有 Sanofi Pasteur 2016
香港數碼港三期C座7樓706-710室
本網站只供香港居民參考之用

疾病資訊 / 德國麻疹

德國麻疹

疾病簡介: 

”德國麻疹” 也被稱為風疹,由風疹病毒所引起。2

風疹是一種急性病毒感染。病毒以人類為宿主,主要影響兒童和青少年。據世衞統計,風疹每隔5至9年便會流行一次,然而,其流行的時間長短和週期在工業化國家與發展中國家之間存在很大差異。1

正準備懷孕、或正值懷孕初期的婦女若感染風疹,有機會會導致流產、死胎、或胎兒會出理名為「先天性風疹綜合症」(CRS)的先天性缺陷。在較多育齡婦女染上風疹的國家,出現CRS的風險亦較高。各國的風疹病發率會因應當地流行病狀況、社會經濟差異、以及城市和農村的規劃而有所不同。1

風疹疫苗面世之前,在風疹作為風土病的地區,每1000名活嬰當中有0.1-0.2名風疹患者; 而以風疹作為流行病的地區,每1000名活嬰當中就有0.8-4名風疹患者。1

病徵: 

病童通常會全身出疹,而成年人可能會在出疹前先出現輕微發燒、頭痛、不適、淋巴結脹大、上呼吸道症狀及結膜炎達1 – 5天。出疹的情況通常維持約3天,但有些患者可能沒有這個病徵。關節痛或關節炎較常出現於染上風疹的成年女性。風疹可令成長中的胎兒出現異常情況。孕婦如果在懷孕首3個月感染風疹,所誕下的嬰兒可能會患上先天性風疹綜合症,導致失聰、眼部缺陷、心臟畸形及智力發展遲緩。2

傳播途徑: 

風疹可透過接觸病人的鼻咽分泌物而傳播,所以接觸飛沫或直接與病人接觸均可能被感染。風疹傳染性極高,病人在出疹前一星期至出疹後一星期都可傳染別人。2

潛伏期: 

潛伏期由12 – 23天不等,通常為期14天。2

預防方法: 
  • 維持良好的個人衞生2
    • 經常保持雙手清潔,尤其在觸摸口、鼻或眼之前、觸摸扶手或門把等公共設施後,或當手被呼吸道分泌物污染時,如咳嗽或打噴嚏後。
    • 打噴嚏或咳嗽時應用紙巾掩蓋口鼻。
    • 當出現呼吸道感染病徵,應戴上外科口罩,停止上班或上學,避免前往人多擠逼的地方,及盡早向醫生求診。
    • 患者在出疹後7天內應留在家中休息。此外,要避免接觸易受感染的人士,特別是孕婦和計劃懷孕的女士,因為沒有風疹免疫力的孕婦會因感染病毒而影響胎兒。
  • 保持良好的環境衞生2
    • 定期清潔和消毒常接觸的表面,如傢俬、玩具和共用物件。使用 1 比 99 稀釋家用漂白水消毒。
    • 用吸水力強的即棄抹巾清理可見的污物,如呼吸道分泌物,然後用1 比 49 稀釋家用漂白水消毒被污染的地方及鄰近各處。
    • 保持室內空氣流通。
  • 免疫接種2
    • 德國麻疹(風疹)疫苗能有效地預防風疹。香港兒童免疫接種計劃為一歲及小一的兒童接種麻疹、流行性腮腺炎及德國麻疹混合疫苗(麻腮風疫苗)。
    • 已屆生育年齡而未接受免疫注射的婦女,最好在受孕前檢查本身的免疫情況,然後在有需要時接受德國麻疹防疫注射。
治理方法: 

現時並無特別的治療方法,但可處方藥物紓緩不適。2

Reference:

  1. World Health Organization. Weekly epidemiological record. Rubella vaccines: WHO position paper – July 2011. 2011;29(86):301-316.
  2. Centre for Health Protection. Communicable diseases – Rubella. 15 March 2018. [ONLINE] https://www.chp.gov.hk/en/healthtopics/content/24/40.html (Accessed 16 May 2018).

 

SPHK.IMOJ.18.05.0065 / MAY 2018