Site last updated 07/01/2022
Copyright® Sanofi Pasteur 2016
Units 706-710, Level 7, Core C, Cyberport 3, 100 Cyberport Road, Hong Kong
This website is for Hong Kong residents only.

Diseases / EV71

EV71

What is it?: 

Enterovirus 71 (EV71) is one of the most common causes of Hand, Foot and Mouth Disease (HFMD) outbreaks. It may be accompanied by rare but life-threatening neurological and cardiopulmonary complications.1

From the late 1990s onwards, the largest EV71 epidemics have occurred almost exclusively in the Asia-Pacific region, including Taiwan, mainland China, Hong Kong, Malaysia, Vietnam, Singapore, and Thailand. 1

EV71 is highly contagious and transmitted through close contact with bodily fluids such as nasopharyngeal secretions and stool. Children from age 6 months to 5 years are at highest risk of infection. The disease usually presents with fever, oral lesions (that can sometimes be severe), and a papulovesicular or maculopapular exanthem on the palms of the hands, soles of the feet, buttocks, knees, and elbows. The illness is usually self-limiting but can be associated with more serious complications. 1

Clinical features: 

EV71 infection usually affects young children. Patients commonly present with symptoms of HFMD, characterised by fever, sores in the mouth and a rash with blisters. The illness usually begins with fever, poor appetite, tiredness and sore throat. One or two days after fever onset, painful sores may develop in the mouth. They begin as small red spots with blisters and then often become ulcers. They usually appear on the tongue, gum and inside of the cheeks. There may also be a skin rash that is non-itchy and sometimes accompanied by blisters. The rash usually appears on the palms of the hands and soles of the feet and may also appear on the buttocks and/or genitalia.2

A person with HFMD may not have symptoms, or may only have rash or mouth ulcers. EV71 may cause more serious diseases, such as viral (aseptic) meningitis, encephalitis, poliomyelitis-like paralysis and myocarditis.2

Mode of transmission: 

The disease mainly spreads by contact with an infected person’s nose or throat discharges, saliva, fluid from vesicles or stool, or after touching contaminated objects. The disease is contagious during the acute stage and perhaps longer, as faecal shedding of virus can continue for several weeks.2

Incubation period: 

The incubation period commonly ranges from 3 - 5 days.2

Prevention: 

Vaccine to prevent EV71 infection is not available in Hong Kong at the moment. Good personal and environmental hygiene are the mainstay of prevention.2

1. Maintain good personal hygiene2

  • Perform hand hygiene frequently, especially before and after touching the mouth, nose or eyes; before eating or handling food; after touching blister; and after using the toilet.
  • Wash hands with liquid soap and water, and rub for at least 20 seconds. Then rinse with water and dry with either a clean cotton towel or a paper towel.
  • Cover your mouth and nose with tissue paper when coughing or sneezing. Dispose of soiled tissue paper into a lidded rubbish bin, then wash hands thoroughly.
  • Use serving chopsticks and spoons at meal time. Do not share food and drinks with others.
  • Do not share towels and personal items with others.
  • Avoid close contact (such as kissing, hugging) with infected persons.
  • Refrain from work or attending class at school, and seek medical advice if feeling unwell. 
  • Exclude infected persons from handling food and from providing care to children, elderly and immunocompromised people.

2. Maintain good environmental hygiene2

  • Regularly clean and disinfect frequently touched surfaces such as furniture, toys and commonly shared items with 1:99 diluted household bleach (mixing 1 part of 5.25% bleach with 99 parts of water), leave for 15 - 30 minutes, and then rinse with water and keep dry. 
  • Use absorbent disposable towels to wipe away obvious contaminants such as respiratory secretions, vomitus or excreta, and then disinfect the surface and neighbouring areas with 1:49 diluted household bleach (mixing 1 part of 5.25% bleach with 49 parts of water), leave for 15 - 30 minutes and then rinse with water and keep dry. 
  • Avoid group activities when HFMD outbreak occurs in the school or institution. Besides, minimise staff movement and arrange the same group of staff to take care of the same group of children as far as possible.
Managment: 

Currently, no specific treatment is available for EV71 infection. Symptomatic treatment can relieve fever and pain from the ulcers. In most cases, the illness is self-limiting and symptoms including fever, rash and ulcers usually subside in a week. Parents should pay attention to the health of their children and seek medical advice immediately if their children having HFMD develop the following symptoms:

  • persistent and high fever
  • repeated vomiting
  • persistent sleepiness or drowsiness
  • myoclonic jerks or sudden limb weakness

Infected children are advised to refrain from schools or group activities such as parties, interest classes and swimming until 2 weeks after fever has subsided and all the vesicular lesions have dried and crusted to prevent the spread of disease. Protect other family members, especially children, from getting the infection through strict personal and environmental hygiene (see advice on prevention below).2

Reference:

  1. Zarifah R., Mary J.C., Status of research and development of vaccines for enterovirus 71. Vaccine. 2016;34:2967-2970.
  2. Centre for Health Protection. Communicable diseases – Enterovirus 71 Infection. 24 Apr 2020. https://www.chp.gov.hk/en/healthtopics/content/24/12431.html [ONLINE] Accessed on 16 Mar 2021.

 

MAT-HK-2100343-1.0-03/2021

本頁最後更新日期 18/05/2021
版權所有 Sanofi Pasteur 2016
香港數碼港三期C座7樓706-710室
本網站只供香港居民參考之用

疾病資訊 / 腸病毒71型

腸病毒71型

疾病簡介: 

腸病毒71型(EV71)是引致手足口病的病原體之一。受此病毒感染亦有機會伴隨罕見但會因影響神經或心肺功能而致命的併發症。1

從20世紀90年代末開始,最大型的EV71疫情幾乎全部發生在亞太地區,包括台灣,中國大陸,香港,馬來西亞,越南,新加坡和泰國。1

EV71病毒具有高度傳染性,能夠通過接觸鼻咽分泌物或大便等體液而傳播。 6個月至5歲的兒童受EV71病毒感染的風險最高。病徵通常為發燒、口腔病變(間中會比較嚴重)、以及在手掌、腳底、臀部、膝蓋和肘部出現斑狀丘疹。受此病毒感染通常可以自行痊癒,不過間中有機會引致其他嚴重併發症。1

病徵: 

EV71型感染在幼童較為常見。其病徵一般與手足口病相同,主要包括發燒、口腔有疼痛的潰瘍,以及帶水疱的皮疹。病發時通常首先出現發燒、食慾不振、疲倦或喉嚨痛等病徵。發燒後一至兩天,口腔可能會出現疼痛的水疱,這些水疱初時呈細小的紅點,然後會形成潰瘍。潰瘍通常位於舌頭、牙肉以及口腔的兩腮內側。另外,手掌及腳掌,甚至臀部及/或生殖器亦會出現不痕癢及有時會帶有小水疱的紅疹。2

手足口病患者亦可能沒有病徵,或者只出現皮疹或口腔潰瘍等病徵。EV71型可引致較嚴重的情況,包括病毒性腦膜炎、腦炎、類小兒麻痺症癱瘓及心肌炎。2

 

傳播途徑: 

EV71型感染主要透過接觸患者的鼻或喉嚨分泌物、唾液、穿破的水疱和糞便,或觸摸受污染的物件而傳播。此病的傳播能力由病發初期開始,而病毒可以持續從體內經由糞便排放達數星期。2

潛伏期: 

潛伏期一般為 3 - 5 天。2

預防方法: 

現時香港並沒有疫苗可預防EV71型感染。要有效預防感染,保持良好的個人及環境衞生是最重要。

1. 保持良好個人衞生

  • 經常保持雙手清潔,尤其在觸摸口、鼻或眼之前和後;進食及處理食物前;接觸水疱後;及如廁後。
  • 洗手時應以梘液和清水清潔雙手,搓手最少20秒,用水過清並用乾淨毛巾或抹手紙抹乾。
  • 打噴嚏或咳嗽時應用紙巾掩蓋口鼻,把用過的紙巾棄置於有蓋垃圾箱內,然後徹底清潔雙手。
  • 用膳時要使用公筷和公匙,不要與人共享同一食物或飲料。
  • 不要與他人共用毛巾或其他個人物品。
  • 避免與患者有親密接觸,如接吻、擁抱。
  • 當身體不適時,不應上班或上學及應向醫生求診。
  • 患者應避免處理食物和照顧兒童、長者和缺乏免疫力的人士。

2. 保持良好的環境衞生

  • 經常清潔和消毒常接觸的表面,如傢俬、玩具和共用物件。使用 1 比 99 稀釋家用漂白水(即把1 份 5.25% 漂白水與 99 份清水混和)消毒,待 15 - 30 分鐘後,用水清洗並抹乾。
  • 用吸水力強的即棄抹巾清理可見的污物,如呼吸道分泌物、嘔吐物或排泄物,然後用1 比 49 稀釋家用漂白水(即把 1 份 5.25% 漂白水與 49 份清水混和)消毒被污染的地方及鄰近各處,待 15 - 30 分鐘後,用水清洗並抹乾。
  • 當學校或院舍爆發手足口病期間,避免集體活動。此外,應減少人手調動,盡量安排同一組員工照顧同一組學生。2
治理方法: 

現時並沒有藥物治療EV71型感染。一些紓緩症狀的藥物能紓緩發燒及潰瘍引致的痛楚。大部分患者都會自行痊癒,其病徵如發燒、皮疹及潰瘍通常會於1星期後消退。家長亦應留意患手足口病兒童的身體狀况,如出現以下情況,應立即求醫:

  • 持續高燒
  • 反覆嘔吐
  • 持續昏睡
  • 肌肉抽搐或肢體忽然無力

受感染的兒童應避免上學或參加集體活動(如派對、興趣班及游泳等),直至退燒以及身體上的水疱乾涸及結痂後兩星期,以免疾病傳播。為保障家人(特別是兒童)免受感染,必須保持良好的個人及環境衞生。2

Reference:

  1. Zarifah R., Mary J.C., Status of research and development of vaccines for enterovirus 71. Vaccine. 2016;34:2967-2970.
  2. Centre for Health Protection. Communicable diseases – Enterovirus 71 Infection. 24 Apr 2020. https://www.chp.gov.hk/tc/healthtopics/content/24/12431.html [ONLINE] Accessed on 16 Mar 2021.

 

MAT-HK-2100342-1.0-03/2021