Site last updated 07/01/2022
Copyright® Sanofi Pasteur 2016
Units 706-710, Level 7, Core C, Cyberport 3, 100 Cyberport Road, Hong Kong
This website is for Hong Kong residents only.

Diseases / Tetanus

Tetanus

What is it?: 

Tetanus is an acute infectious disease caused by toxigenic strains of the bacterium Clostridium tetani (C. tetani). The spores of C. tetani are present in the environment irrespective of geographical location; they enter the body through contaminated skin wounds or tissue injuries including puncture wounds. The disease may occur at any age and case-fatality rates are high even where intensive care is available. In the absence of medical intervention, the case-fatality rate approaches 100%.1

WHO estimates that in 2015, approximately 34 000 neonates died from neonatal tetanus. Tetanus is preventable through immunization with vaccines, which are included in routine childhood immunization programmes globally, and administered during antenatal care contacts in many countries.1

Clinical features: 

The disease is characterised by painful muscular contractions at the jaws and the neck; sometimes the trunk is also affected and generalised spasms of muscles may occur. In severe cases, infected persons may not be able to swallow or open his/her mouth. When tetanus affects muscles that help to breathe, the patient may die very quickly.2

Mode of transmission: 

The bacteria are found in soil and animal faeces. They get into the body through a break in the skin (such as a cut, puncture or tiny wound). Infection can also occur after burn or animal bite. Tetanus does not spread from one person to another.2

Incubation period: 

The incubation period is 3 to 21 days, with most cases developing symptoms within 14 days of infection.2

Prevention: 

1. Proper wound management2

  • Clean wound immediately and cover properly with waterproof adhesive dressings until healed.
  • Perform hand hygiene before and after touching wounds.
  • Wounds should be assessed regularly. Consult doctor promptly if symptoms of infection develop.

2. Vaccination2

  • Depending on the type of wound and immunisation history of the person, s/he may need to receive tetanus toxoid or immunoglobulin to prevent tetanus.
  • Immunisation with tetanus toxoid containing vaccines protects against tetanus. The tetanus toxoid can be administered alone or as a combined vaccine, e.g. diphtheria & tetanus vaccine (DT), diphtheria, tetanus, acellular pertussis and inactivated poliovirus vaccine (DTaP-IPV) (Please refer to the Hong Kong Childhood Immunisation Programme). A complete series of tetanus toxoid according to the immunisation schedule gives effective protection for at least 10 years.
Managment: 

Affected persons should be hospitalized for treatment including tetanus immunoglobulin, antibiotics and thorough wound treatment. In severe cases, muscle relaxants, tracheostomy and mechanical ventilation to assist breathing may be required. Active immuniation should be started concurrently with therapy if there is incomplete, uncertain or no history of immunisation.2

Reference:           

  1. World Health Organization. Tetanus vaccines: WHO position paper. Feb 2017.
  2. Centre for Health Protection. Communicable diseases – Tetanus. 20 Nov 2021. https://www.chp.gov.hk/en/healthtopics/content/24/42.html [ONLINE] Accessed 12 Mar 2021.

 

MAT-HK-2100311-1.0-03/2021

本頁最後更新日期 18/05/2021
版權所有 Sanofi Pasteur 2016
香港數碼港三期C座7樓706-710室
本網站只供香港居民參考之用

疾病資訊 / 破傷風

破傷風

疾病簡介: 

破傷風是由破傷風梭菌(C.tetani)菌株引起的急性傳染病。無論哪個地理位置,破傷風梭菌的孢子都存在於環境中;它們可以通過受污染的傷口或組織損傷(包括穿刺傷口)進入體內。任何年齡群組都有機會受感染,即使及時得到深切治療,死亡率仍然很高。如果沒有療程介入,死亡率可以接近100%。1

世界衛生組織估計,2015年有大約34,000名新生嬰兒死於破傷風。接種疫苗可以預防破傷風,因此破傷風疫苗已經包括在世界各地的常規兒童免疫計劃中,許多國家甚至在產前保健期間接種此疫苗。1

病徵: 

患者的上、下顎和頸部會因肌肉攣縮而感到疼痛,身軀有時亦會受影響,產生普遍性的肌肉痙攣。病情嚴重者不能吞嚥或張嘴。破傷風一旦影響幫助呼吸的肌肉組織,可令患者迅速死亡。2

傳播途徑: 

細菌存在於泥土和動物糞便,透過破損的皮膚表面(例如割傷、刺傷、甚或很微細的傷口)入侵人體。燒傷或動物咬傷後亦可感染破傷風,但破傷風菌並不會人傳人。2

潛伏期: 

潛伏期由 3 至 21 天不等,大多數在受感染後 14 天內病發。2

預防方法: 

1. 正確護理傷口2

  • 盡快清潔慯口,並用防水敷料妥善覆蓋傷口直至癒合。
  • 觸摸傷口前、後須潔淨雙手。
  • 定期評估傷口情況。如出現感染症狀,應盡早求診。

2. 接種疫苗2

  • 視乎傷口的類型和傷者的免疫接種記錄,在有需要時予以接種破傷風疫苗或破傷風免疫球蛋白,以預防感染破傷風。  
  • 免疫接種含有破傷風類毒素的疫苗可預防感染破傷風。破傷風類毒素可單獨或以混合疫苗形式接種,如「白喉及破傷風混合疫苗」及「白喉、破傷風、無細胞型百日咳及滅活小兒麻痺混合疫苗」等 (請參閱「香港兒童免疫接種計劃」)。完成破傷風類毒素疫苗接種,可有效預防破傷風最少 10 年。
治理方法: 

患者應留院接受破傷風免疫球蛋白、抗生素等治療,並徹底治理傷口。病情嚴重者或須施以肌肉鬆弛劑、氣管造口術和裝置呼吸器協助呼吸。若過去未完成、未能確定或沒有接種破傷風疫苗記錄的患者,在施行療程的同時亦須接種疫苗。2

Reference:           

  1. World Health Organization. Tetanus vaccines: WHO position paper. Feb 2017.
  2. Centre for Health Protection. Communicable diseases – Tetanus. 20 Nov 2019. https://www.chp.gov.hk/en/healthtopics/content/24/42.html [ONLINE] Accessed 12 Mar 2021. 

 

MAT-HK-2100310-1.0-03/2021