Site last updated 07/01/2022
Copyright® Sanofi Pasteur 2016
Units 706-710, Level 7, Core C, Cyberport 3, 100 Cyberport Road, Hong Kong
This website is for Hong Kong residents only.

Diseases / Yellow Fever

Yellow Fever

What is it?: 

Yellow Fever (YF) is a mosquito-borne viral disease of humans and other primates, and is currently endemic in 44 countries in the tropical regions of Africa and South America. According to WHO estimates from the early 1990s, 200,000 cases of YF, with 30,000 deaths, are expected globally each year, with 90% occurring in Africa. Infection with the YF virus can be asymptomatic or cause a wide spectrum of disease, from mild symptoms to severe illness with bleeding, jaundice and, ultimately, death.1

One study has estimated that unvaccinated travelers who visit areas in Africa during periods of epidemic activity have a 1 in 267 risk of illness and a 1 in 1333 risk of death due to YF. However, travellers’ risk of acquiring YF is difficult to predict due to variations in the ecologic determinants of virus transmission and in protective behaviours, immunity profiles, and activities.1

Clinical features: 

The majority of persons infected with yellow fever virus have no or only mild illness. Some people may develop fever, muscle pain (especially backache), headache, loss of appetite, and nausea or vomiting. The condition of most patients improves and their symptoms disappear after 3 to 4 days. Those who recover from yellow fever usually have lasting immunity against subsequent infection. However, a small percentage of the cases will progress to a more severe form of the disease (characterised by high fever, jaundice, bleeding, and shock and failure of multiple organs). Some cases may be complicated by secondary bacterial infection. Fatality rate among severe cases is about 30 to 60%.2

Mode of transmission: 

Yellow fever virus is transmitted via the bite of infected Aedes mosquitoes (mainly Aedes aegypti). Mosquitoes feed on infected humans or animals (mainly monkeys), and then pass on the virus when they feed on other humans or animals.2

Incubation period: 

About 3 – 6 days.2

Prevention: 

Vaccination2

The World Health Organization (WHO) recommends (except those who are contraindicated) immunisation for all travellers aged 9 months or above, travelling to and from at-risk areas. In Hong Kong, the service is provided at the travel health centres of the Department of Health (DH). It takes 10 days for the vaccine to become effective in providing protection. Travellers should be aware of the risk of yellow fever when planning to travel to affected areas and arrange travel health consultation at least 8 weeks before departure. Travellers who are vaccinated against yellow fever will be given an International Certificate of Vaccination or Prophylaxis which is valid for life from 10 days after the injection.

Some countries require proof of yellow fever vaccination as a condition of entry or transit for travellers arriving from certain countries. A list of countries with risk of yellow fever transmission and countries requiring yellow fever vaccination can be found on the WHO website at https://www.who.int/ith/ith-yellow-fever-annex1-new.pdf?ua=1.

For more information on travel health, please visit Travel Health Service website of the DH at www.travelhealth.gov.hk.

Managment: 

There is no specific drug treatment for yellow fever. Management is mainly for symptomatic relief. Associated bacterial infections can be treated with antibiotics. For severe forms of infection, supportive care may include intravenous fluid replacement, dialysis and blood transfusion.2

Patients carrying the virus should be isolated to prevent mosquito bites that may spread the disease to others.2

Reference:           

  1. World Health Organization. Yellow fever vaccines: WHO position paper. Jul 2013.
  2. Centre for Health Protection. Communicable diseases – Yellow Fever. 10 December 2019. [ONLINE] https://www.chp.gov.hk/en/healthtopics/content/24/25044.html Accessed on 12 Apr 2021.

 

MAT-HK-2100439-1.0-04/2021

本頁最後更新日期 18/05/2021
版權所有 Sanofi Pasteur 2016
香港數碼港三期C座7樓706-710室
本網站只供香港居民參考之用

疾病資訊 / 黃熱病

黃熱病

疾病簡介: 

黃熱病(YF)是一種經由蚊子傳播的病毒性傳染病,主要影響人類和其他靈長類動物,現時在非洲和南美洲44個國家的熱帶地區肆虐。據世界衛生組織估計,從90年代初起,全球每年約有20萬宗黃熱病個案,當中有3萬宗為死亡個案,90%發生在非洲。受黃熱病病毒感染後,病者可以是毫無症狀,又或者會出現各種輕微到嚴重的症狀,甚至會有出血、黃疸的病徵。最嚴重者則會死亡。1

根據一項研究估計,未接種疫苗的旅客在黃熱病流行期間到訪非洲,患上此病的風險為1比 267;其死亡風險則為1比1,333。不過,旅客風險難以評估,因為傳播生態、各地保護措施、免疫系統和活動在各地均有差異。1

病徵: 

大部分的黃熱病患者可以沒有或只有輕微病徵。部分患者會出現發燒、肌肉疼痛(尤其是背痛)、頭痛、食慾不振和噁心或嘔吐。大多數患者的情況會好轉,病徵並於 3 至 4 天後消退。患者痊癒後一般可產生免疫力,不會再受感染。然而,有少部份患者會轉化成嚴重的疾病(如高燒、黃疸病、出血、休克和多重器官衰竭)。一些個案亦可能會出現繼發性細菌感染。嚴重病例的死亡率為 30 至 60%。2

傳播途徑: 

黃熱病病毒是透過受感染的伊蚊(主要為埃及伊蚊)叮咬而傳播。蚊子在叮咬患病的人或動物(主要是猴子)後,再透過叮咬將病毒傳播給其他人或動物。2

潛伏期: 

約 3 - 6 天。2

預防方法: 

疫苗接種2

世界衞生組織(世衞)建議(除了有禁忌症人士外),所有年齡 9 個月或以上需往返有感染風險地區的旅遊人士應接種疫苗。在香港,衞生署旅遊健康中心提供黃熱病疫苗接種服務。疫苗在接種 10 天後才能有效提供保護力。如計劃前往受影響的地方,旅客必須留意感染黃熱病的風險。旅客應在出發前至少八星期,預約醫生會診服務。接種後,市民會獲發「疫苗接種或預防措施國際證書」,自注射後 10 天起計終身有效。

有些國家會要求從某些地區抵達或過境的旅客出示有效的疫苗接種證明文件。有關不同國家感染黃熱病的風險和接種疫苗的要求,可參考世衞網頁 https://www.who.int/ith/ith-yellow-fever-annex1-new.pdf?ua=1 。

如欲獲得更多旅遊健康資訊,請瀏覽衞生署旅遊健康服務網站 www.travelhealth.gov.hk

 

 

治理方法: 

現時並沒有特定藥物治療黃熱病。治理方法主要是紓緩病徵。相關的細菌感染可用抗生素治療。在處理嚴重個案時,支援性治療可包括以靜脈注射來補充水分、血液透析和輸血等。2

患者須接受隔離治療,以免被蚊子叮咬而再將病毒傳播他人。2

Reference:           

  1. World Health Organization. Yellow fever vaccines: WHO position paper. Jul 2013.
  2. Centre for Health Protection. Communicable diseases – Yellow Fever. 10 December 2019. [ONLINE] https://www.chp.gov.hk/tc/healthtopics/content/24/25044.html  Accessed on 12 Apr 2021.

 

MAT-HK-2100438-1.0-04/2021