Site last updated 07/01/2022
Copyright® Sanofi Pasteur 2016
Units 706-710, Level 7, Core C, Cyberport 3, 100 Cyberport Road, Hong Kong
This website is for Hong Kong residents only.

General / Why Vaccinate?

Why Vaccinate?

Why do children need immunisation?

The reason for immunisation is to decrease the chance of children from getting infectious diseases. Moreover, if the majority of people are immunised and become immune, this would reduce the risk of infectious diseases spreading in the community, thereby protecting the health of individuals and the community.1

When should children be immunised?

Immunisation should be started from birth, with booster doses administered for certain vaccines later on to maintain immunity.1

Why do children need boosters?

Scientific evidence indicates that the immunity produced by some vaccines decreases with time. Hence, booster doses should be given at intervals to enhance the immunity.1

What vaccines should children receive and where can they get immunised?

The Scientific Committee on Vaccine Preventable Diseases (SCVPD) under the Centre for Health Protection (CHP) of the Department of Health (DH) makes recommendations regarding the Hong Kong Childhood Immunisation Programme (HKCIP) based on local epidemiology and scientific evidence.  Immunisations provided under the public health care sector follow the schedule of the HKCIP.  Infants and children should receive different types of vaccines and boosters to protect them from tuberculosis, poliomyelitis, hepatitis B, diphtheria, whooping cough (pertussis), tetanus, pneumococcal infection, chickenpox, measles, mumps, rubella and cervical cancer^.  As different countries and areas have their own childhood immunisation programme based on their epidemiology, DH recommends children to receive immunisation in their usual place of residence for comprehensive protection against childhood infectious diseases.

Parents can bring their children from birth to five years of age to any Maternal and Child Health Centres (MCHCs) of DH for immunisation. Inoculators of the DH will visit primary schools to provide immunisation service to school children. Parents may also bring their children to private doctors for immunisation.1

Besides the vaccines included in the Hong Kong Childhood Immunisation Programme, should children receive other vaccines?

Besides those vaccines included in the HKCIP, some private doctors and hospitals may provide other vaccines such as Influenza vaccine, Haemophilus influenzae type b vaccine, meningococcal vaccine, rotavirus vaccine, hepatitis A vaccine and Japanese encephalitis vaccine etc. Parents may seek advice from private doctors and vaccines outside HKCIP maybe offered to children based on individual health needs.1

 

Reference:

  1. Family Health Service. Prevent Communicable Diseases - Get Your Child Vaccinated. [ONLINE] https://www.fhs.gov.hk/english/health_info/child/14828.html

 

MAT-HK-2100099-1.0-02/2021

 

Latest Articles

本頁最後更新日期 18/05/2021
版權所有 Sanofi Pasteur 2016
香港數碼港三期C座7樓706-710室
本網站只供香港居民參考之用

為什麼兒童需要接種疫苗?

為什麼兒童需要接種疫苗?

為什麼兒童需要接種疫苗?

假如大部分人都接種疫苗,個人和群體所產生的免疫力可減少傳染病在社區蔓延的機會、保障市民的生命和促進社區健康。1

兒童需要何時開始接種疫苗?

接種疫苗應由初生嬰兒開始,並在適當時間接種某些疫苗的加強劑,以維持免疫力。1

為什麼兒童需要接種疫苗加強劑?

科研證據顯示,在完成某些疫苗的基礎接種後,必須接種加強劑以增強免疫力。1

兒童應該接種哪些疫苗他們又可以在甚麼地方接種相關疫苗

香港的公營醫療系統是根據衞生署衞生防護中心轄下「疫苗可預防疾病科學委員會」建議的「香港兒童免疫接種計劃」(下稱「計劃」),為嬰幼兒童提供免疫接種以預防結核病、小兒麻痺症、乙型肝炎、白喉、百日咳、破傷風、肺炎球菌感染、水痘、麻疹、流行性腮腺炎、德國麻疹及子宮頸癌^。「計劃」是根據本地的流行病情況和最新的科研證據制定。不同國家或地區有各自的兒童免疫接種計劃,其內容是按當地的流行病情況制定。因此,衞生署建議家長根據通常居住地的免疫接種計劃為兒童安排疫苗接種,保障兒童健康。

家長可以帶初生至五歲的子女到衞生署轄下的母嬰健康院接種疫苗。就讀小學的兒童則由衞生署注射員到學校提供疫苗接種服務。家長亦可選擇帶子女到私家醫務所接種疫苗。1

除了「香港兒童免疫接種計劃」內的疫苗,兒童需要接種其他疫苗嗎?

除了「計劃」內的疫苗,個別私家診所或醫院可為兒童接種其他疫苗以預防相關的傳染病,例如流行性感冒、乙型流感嗜血桿菌、腦膜炎雙球菌、輪狀病毒疫苗、甲型肝炎及日本腦炎等。家長如希望為子女接種這些疫苗,應先請教私家醫生。醫生會因應兒童的個別情況給予適當的建議。1

Reference:

  1. Family Health Service. Prevent Communicable Diseases - Get Your Child Vaccinated. [ONLINE] https://www.fhs.gov.hk/tc_chi/health_info/child/14828.html

 

MAT-HK-2100098-1.0-02/2021

 

最新文章